Back to All Events

Nudist presents: Season Finale TIMO LASSY BAND


Timo Lassy - tenor saxophone
Teppo Mäkynen - drums
Antti Lötjönen - double bass
Georgios Kontrafouris - piano
Abdissa Assefa - percussion

Ticket price 12€/15€

Saxophonist-composer-bandleader Timo Lassy is a household name in his domestic Finland. Having worked as a sought-after freelance saxophonist already during his studies at Sibelius Academy and Amsterdam Conservatory he was amongst the new generation of Finnish musicians who formed The Five Corners Quintet known for bringing jazz back to the dancefloor reaching a large audience around the globe.

For the past decade Timo Lassy has concentrated on his solo career mainly playing with his long time associated known as Timo Lassy Band, “one of Europe’s sharpest bands” according to the Sunday Times UK and “quality swinging jazz with a difference” (Gilles Peterson). Five incredible albums – and a superb collaboration with José James – later Lassy presented the EP “When The Devils’s Paid” in 2017. The song written by Timo features Brazilian giant Ed Motta on vocals.

Award winning album “Moves”, his sixth solo album, is a result of Timo Lassy’s musical path so far and takes a bold step into the future. It reflects all the elements that have made his sound so far – from 60s Soul and Latin Jazz to soulful Vocal Jazz – and briskly moves in a modern direction, encompasses electronic sounds and even Hip Hop with Finnish rap-legend Paleface. Featured on the album are a saxophone legend Eero Koivistoinen and Ricky-Tick Big Band Brass with whom he also performs regularly. Released as gatefold double LP “Moves” won the Emma award (Finnish Grammy) for Jazz album of the year in 2018.

Continuing collaboration with both Finnish and international musicians he has also been composed two unique orchestral suites as a soloist: Kerkko Koskinen: “American miniature horse” (premiered 2017 – Lahti Sinfonietta conducted by Dima Slobodeniouk) and Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen: “A Nocturnal Affair” (premiered 2014 – Umo Jazz Orchestra).

As a composer Timo Lassy has produced music to both feature film and documentaries such as Postilokero 347 – Pikku Kakkosen tarina (2017), Ei kiitos (2014), Moomins on Riviera (2014) and My Stuff (2013)

Solo album discography:
Soul and Jazz of Timo Lassy (Ricky-Tick Records 2007)
Round Two (Rick-Tick Records 2009)
In with Lassy (Schema Records 2011)
Live with Lassy (Schema Records 2014)
Love Bullet (Membran 2015)
Moves (Membran 2018)

Earlier Event: May 29
Later Event: May 31