Back to All Events



Trygve Seim - Tenor and Soprano Saxophone
Kristjan Randalu - Piano
Mats Eilertsen - Double Bass
Markku Ounaskari - Drums

2019. aastal on Philly Joe’s jazziklubis võimalik näha kuut superkooslust Kristjan Randalu ja mainekate ECM Recordsi artistidega, tähistamaks Müncheni plaadifirma 50. juubelit. Sarja neljandal kontserdil jagab Randaluga lava Norra saksofonist Trygve Seim, Norra bassist Mats Eilertsen ja Soome trummar Markku Ounaskari.

Eesti publik seostab ECMiga eelkõige aktuaalse Eesti klassikalise muusika väljaandeid ECM New Series nime all, mis sai alguse Arvo Pärdi loomingu avaldamisega.

Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim’s eighth ECM album as a leader or co-leader, Helsinki Songs, reaches out to the listener, tugging the ear with its overt lyricism, ethereal atmosphere and air of sustained melodic invention, often with hints of the East. Seim wrote most of Helsinki Songs on sojourns in the Finnish capital, in an apartment with “a composer’s aura.” Back in Oslo, he brought the compositions to life at Rainbow Studio with his simpatico quartet featuring Estonian pianist Kristjan Randalu, Norwegian bassist Mats Eilertsen and Finnish drummer Markku Ounaskari. Themes of dedication and tribute run throughout the new album, including pieces referencing Ornette Coleman and Jimmy Webb, as well as tunes dedicated to Seim’s children and bandmates.�

With its overt lyricism, strong themes and a sense of perpetual melodic invention, Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim’s new album quickly identifies itself as a classic-in-the-making. Themes of dedication run through Seim’s Helsinki Song salbum, a set of tunes composed – for the most part – in the Finnish capital, and radiating tributes in many directions. Here are songs referencing Igor Stravinsky and Jimmy Webb, pieces dedicated to each of Seim’s gifted bandmates, and tunes that tip the hat, obliquely, to Ornette Coleman and Bill Evans. The quartet plays superbly throughout, with outstanding solos from leader Seim and pianist Kristjan Randalu. Helsinki Songs was recorded in Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in January 2018 and produced by Manfred Eicher.